National Grid Gallery: Analogue Review

March 31, 2010

More art for Patchwork….I realise we have been a bit art heavy lately but if it is interesting I will post it….and it just happens that the northern beaches have had their creative hats on lately….  

 

And the lovely people down at the National Grid Gallery have been really busy….

They have just opened Analogue, an exhibition featuring images taken with vintage and toy cameras by Australian based fine art photographers Melissa Ramirez, Dax Pointon and Stuart Frossell .

Celebrating medium format film photography - this collection of traditionally enlarged Black and White images has been put together with the intention of defying digital commercial photography.

The show aims to help keep film photography and darkroom techniques alive, to prove film is still a relevant style of photography and to promote traditional photography as a form of collectable and fine art. For me it worked, I walked out thinking about photography in a way I haven’t done for a while.

I admit I am a fan of this style of photography, plastic photography especially, so I did go in with a slight bias….but I really liked it.

All the images are square format and they feature all the things digital cameras do not bring you, like light leaks, vignettes and products that are complete the second the shutter closes.

In saying that, there was a real simplicity in the style that was slightly repetitive. This is probably just because I was coming from a super modern perspective, but I really had to take a step back and remember what real photography is about. It has been a while since I have thought about print quality and darkroom skills and I am thankfull analogue got me thinking again. 

It is as if when you take away the digital manipulation and all of the things that come with it…the actual subject of the photograph is there again. It was like I was looking at photographs of ‘things’ again…..not just photo’s for the sake of photo’s.

And all the subjects were beautiful in their own way, and simple and bland…

Each picture in Analogue is a true imprint of a moment in time…..

Exhibition is open until 30th April.

The National Grid Gallery
24 Chard Road Brookvale

Gallery opening hours are:   Mon-Friday 9am-5pm
                                                  Saturdays 12pm-3pm

Brought to you by Patchwork PeninsulaSydney’s number one northern beaches blog, as voted by cool people.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

